Tags

,

apple-spice-cakeFall always brings about fond memories of my visits to the local apple orchard not far from my college in the North Carolina mountains. There was one – about 20 miles or so from the dorms and I discovered it right before Halloween my freshman year. I guess I was looking for something that reminded me of home…what I found was some of the best local apples and one of the best tasting apple spice cakes I have ever come across. I wish that I would have asked for their recipe – but I suppose that it was probably a well-guarded secret..especially since it’s still their best seller. “Red” and I have made a few return trips and plan to make one again this fall. I am determined to bring at least one home …I wonder how well apple cake freezes?

I’ve included a recipe below that’s pretty close to the original that I fell in love with…

– J.B.

“Momma’s Apple Spice Cake”
 
What’s in it:
Cake –
2 cups sifted flour
2 cups sugar
1 cup soft butter
4 whole eggs
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 cup chopped walnuts
6 apples-peeled, cored and medium diced (I like to mix tart and sweet)
½ cup sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
 
Caramel Glaze –
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1/4 cup evaporated milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of salt
 
How to make it:
Cake –
Combine the ½ cup sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon-set aside. Cream together butter and remaining sugar. Add eggs and mix well. Add dry ingredients and mix until blended-do not over mix. Add walnuts and apples by hand. Pour batter into greased 13 x 9 pan (or bundt pan). Sprinkle sugar-cinnamon mixture over top of cake. Bake 350-degrees for 45 minutes or until toothpick in center comes out clean.
 
Caramel Glaze –
Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until thickened to desired consistency. Pour over cake immediately